Extimacy
Juliette Blightman

Juliette Blightman
Extimacy
24 September – 13 November 2016

&
I Want to Live in the Country (and Other Romances)
with Marie Angeletti, Olga Balema, Dawn Mok and Kate Sansom
invited by Juliette Blightman

Opening: Friday 23 September 2016, 6 pm



Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy


One can experience events in a public space that appear intimate. More and more private things are being taken out of the protected space of the home and put on display. People expose themselves in ways that until recently were deemed awkward, but now appear normal to some. The border between the spheres is apparently becoming more fluid. The political slogan that the private is political has been overtaken by a reality that can hardly be grasped by the distinction between private and public anymore. Yet the two spheres still exist, albeit in a form that is almost inextricably connected. Life is passing through a fundamental, almost unavoidable transformation of the notions of individual and society. To withdraw from these changes merely through defense and retreat may at times give rise to a place of longing, but it usually leads to excluding oneself from public life. To just go along with the developments results in little more than weary opportunism. The challenge instead lies in inventing self-determined behavior under altered circumstances, which need to be comprehended in the first place.

Juliette Blightman’s artistic engagement is based on observations and impressions of her life, of the reality that surrounds her each day. What comes together is a kaleidoscope of pictures of her family and friends, of travels, parties, and spending time together, of interiors and close-ups of details that are easily overlooked, of her own universe and that of the others. An archive of snapshots has been compiled over the years marking the passing of her days. It is an attempt to find a pictorial language for lived time and raising it above pure ephemerality. Blightman seeks formal solutions that assemble an image of her own times beyond merely capturing transient moments. She edits a film that is not a film, whose sequence of cuts makes what has been experienced more tangible. A projected depiction allowing one to comprehend the here and now in a better way.

The situations that Blightman includes in her image sequences often seem hardly worth mentioning. They appear mundane and familiar, have little to do with unique experiences, remarkable observations, or great feats. It is precisely the interest in that which is considered irrelevant, unspecific, interchangeable; the presumption that it is especially the small periods of time that can constitute an entire chapter in one’s life. But Blightman’s pictures are different than those of the private family albums we are all familiar with. Some appear more like the one’s currently made to depict life on the internet. But there is also a clear difference to this kind of self-presentation, because Blightman brings a more reflected theatricality into play. The images appear saturated by an unusual silence, by detachment and melancholy. It is an unknown view of everyday reality that—precisely because it is traversed by moments of conventionality and almost artlessness—places what is unspectacular in a poetic light. This illumination is repeatedly composed in different ways. Blightman confronts new pictures with older ones, letting experiences from different times run in parallel. Surprising constellations emerge, but also variants and repetitions that seek to insist. They are attempts at making events present again without defining them in an assertion or an order. The archive of her own history never becomes visible in its entirety. A certain voyeurism that we are all probably familiar with is stimulated but not fulfilled. If intimacies become visible, they appear abstracted or in formal translations. A motif of a photograph is transferred to a painting or drawing which can in turn appear in a film.

Juliette Blightman alternates between photography, painting, drawing, installation, text, and film. Works by other artists or family members become part of the whole. In this manner, the outside and its effects are included in her own practice. What comes together is shaped by cinematographic influences that make their artistic origins in film discernible. Blightman lends each room—or should I say each take—an own atmosphere that carries us when we walk through the exhibition as if through movie scenes as we become part of the image ourselves.


Works by Juliette Blightman (born 1980 in Farnham, UK, lives in Berlin) have recently been presented at South London Gallery, London (2016), Galerie Azzedine Alaïa, Paris (2016), Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2015), Eden Eden, Berlin (2015), Karma International, Los Angeles (2015), Pied-à-terre, San Francisco (2015), Forde, Geneva (2015), Cubitt, London (2015), Kunsthaus Bregenz (2014), Artists Space, New York (2014), Essex St, New York (2013), Drawing Room, London (2013), Museion, Museo di arte moderna e contemporanea, Bolzano (2012), Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Berlin (2012), British Art Show 7, across UK (2011), International Project Space Bournville, Birmingham (2011), Künstlerhaus Stuttgart (2010), Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2010).

Sonderedition: Juliette Blightman
Plakat: JULIETTE BLIGHTMAN

Extimacy
Juliette Blightman

Juliette Blightman
Extimacy
24. September – 13. November 2016

&
I Want to Live in the Country (and Other Romances)
mit Marie Angeletti, Olga Balema, Dawn Mok und Kate Sansom
Eingeladen von Juliette Blightman

Eröffnung: Freitag, 23. September 2016 ab 18 Uhr



Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy
Extimacy


Im öffentlichen Raum können einem Erlebnisse widerfahren, die intim erscheinen. Immer mehr Privates verlässt den geschützten Raum der Wohnung und wird zur Schau gestellt. Man zeigt sich, in einer Form, die noch vor Kurzem als hochnotpeinlich galt, heute aber für manche die Normalität darzustellen scheint. Die Grenzen zwischen den Sphären erscheinen fliessender. Die politische Parole das Private ist politisch wird von einer Wirklichkeit überholt, die sich mit solchen zweipoligen Unterscheidungen kaum noch nachzeichnen lässt. Es gibt sie noch, die Bereiche des Privaten und des Öffentlichen, aber sie sind kaum trennbar ineinander verwoben. Das Leben bewegt sich heute durch eine grundsätzliche Umwälzung der Vorstellungen von Individuum und Gesellschaft, die kaum eine Ausweichmöglichkeit zulässt. Sich diesen Veränderungen durch Abwehr und Rückzug zu entziehen erscheint manchmal verlockend, führt aber meist allein in den Ausschluss seiner Selbst vom öffentlichen Leben. Mit den Entwicklungen einfach nur mitzugehen führt zu kaum mehr als einem müden Opportunismus. Die Herausforderung liegt vielmehr darin, ein selbstbestimmtes Verhalten in veränderten Umständen, die erst einmal verstanden werden wollen, zu finden.

Juliette Blightmans künstlerische Auseinandersetzung fusst auf Beobachtungen und Eindrücken aus ihrem Leben, der Wirklichkeit, die sie alltäglich umgibt. Was sich zusammensetzt, ist ein Kaleidoskop aus Bildern ihrer Familie, der Freunde, Reisen, Feiern, der gemeinsam verbrachten Zeit, von Interieurs, Nahaufnahmen leicht zu übersehender Feinheiten – des eigenen Kosmos wie dem der anderen. Seit Jahren entsteht ein Archiv aus Momentaufnahmen, die den Fluss ihrer Tage markieren. Es handelt sich um den Versuch, für die gelebte Zeit eine Bildsprache zu finden und diese über die reine Vergänglichkeit hinauszuheben. Blightman sucht nach Formfindungen, die über das Festhalten flüchtiger Momente hinaus ein Bild des Geistes der eigenen Zeit zusammenfügen. Was sie montiert, ist ein Film, der kein Film ist, dessen Schnittfolge das Erlebte fassbarer werden lässt. Eine Projektion, in deren geworfenem Abbild das Jetzt verstehbarer wird.

Die Situationen, die Blightman in ihren Bilderfolgen einholt, scheinen oft kaum der Rede wert. Sie wirken gewöhnlich und vertraut, sind fernab von einzigartigen Erlebnissen, bemerkenswerten Beobachtungen und großartigen Taten. Es ist genau dieses Interesse an dem, was als irrelevant gilt, als unspezifisch, austauschbar. Die Mutmassung, dass es gerade die kleinen Zeitabschnitte sind, die einen ganzen Lebensabschnitt zusammensetzen können. Bei all dem unterscheiden sich Blightmans Bilder von den privaten Familienalben, wie sie uns von früher vertraut sind. In manchem wirken sie den Bildern, die gegenwärtig entstehen, um im Internet das Leben abzubilden, da schon etwas ähnlicher. Doch auch zu dieser Art von Selbstdarstellung besteht ein klar gezeichneter Unterschied. Bei Blightman kommt eine gebrochenere Theatralität ins Spiel. Die Bilder wirken von einer ungewöhnlichen Stille, Distanziertheit und Melancholie erfüllt. Es ist ein unbekannter Blick auf das Alltägliche, der gerade, weil ihn Momente des Konventionellen, fast Unkünstlerischen kreuzen, das Unspektakuläre in ein poetisches Licht rückt. Diese Beleuchtung wird immer wieder anders komponiert. Neu entstandene Aufnahmen konfrontiert Blightman mit älteren, lässt das Erlebte aus verschiedenen Zeiten nebeneinander laufen. Es kommt zu überraschenden Konstellationen, aber auch zu Varianten und Wiederholungen, die nochmals zeigen, um zu insistieren. Es sind Versuche der Vergegenwärtigung des Geschehenen, ohne dieses in der Behauptung einer Ordnung zu fixieren. Dabei wird das Archiv der eigenen Geschichte nie als Ganzes sichtbar. Ein gewisser Voyeurismus, der uns allen vertraut sein dürfte, wird gereizt, aber nicht bedient. Werden Intimitäten sichtbar, tauchen sie abstrahiert oder in formalen Übersetzungen auf. Ein Motiv einer Fotografie wird in eine Malerei oder Zeichnung übertragen, die wiederum in einem Film auftauchen können.

Juliette Blightman wechselt in ihrer Arbeit zwischen Fotografie, Malerei, Zeichnung, Installation, Text und Film. Arbeiten von anderen Künstlern/innen und Familienmitgliedern werden Teil eines Ganzen. Das Aussen und sein Wirken auf ihr eigenes Tun werden auf diese Weise einbezogen. Was sich dabei zusammensetzt, ist geprägt von kinematografischen Einflüssen, die Blightmans künstlerische Ursprünge im Film erkennbar werden lassen. Jedem Raum, oder sollte ich sagen, jeder Einstellung verleiht sie eine eigene Atmosphäre, die einen trägt, wenn man wie durch Szenen hindurchwandelt und selbst ins Bild gerät.

Arbeiten von Juliette Blightman (geb. 1980 in Farnham, UK, lebt in Berlin) wurden u.a. präsentiert in der South London Gallery, London (2016), Galerie Azzedine Alaïa, Paris (2016), Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2015), Eden Eden, Berlin (2015), Karma International, Los Angeles (2015), Pied-à-terre, San Francisco (2015), Forde, Genf (2015), Cubitt, London (2015), Kunsthaus Bregenz (2014), Artists Space, New York (2014), Essex St, New York (2013), Drawing Room, London (2013), Museion, Museo di arte moderna e contemporanea, Bolzano (2012), Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Berlin (2012), British Art Show 7, diverse Orte UK (2011), International Project Space Bournville, Birmingham (2011), Künstlerhaus Stuttgart (2010), Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2010).

Sonderedition: Juliette Blightman
Plakat: JULIETTE BLIGHTMAN